Mobile in Melbourne


Mobile in Melbourne

Originally uploaded by st0nemas0nry

This week I spent four nights in Melbourne with my wife and daughter. With no computer, I used my mobile phone to access the Internet so I didn’t have to call at Internet cafes and spend time away from my family. Forced to rely on my phone, I learned a few things about websites fashioned to suit mobile phones.

Twitter
Twitter was my lifeline to the virtual world. I was able to keep in touch with my Twitter friends at Twitter Mobile. Unfortunately, I couldn’t access most URLs that were posted because my phone’s memory is not large enough to download complex sites. So I got to appreciate what websites would be accessible to my students on their phones, and determined that my future online resources should be easily viewable in this way.

Twiddeo
While I’ve been enjoying Seesmic, it is not accessible on my phone. Undoubtedly this feature will appear in future iterations (Seesmic as well as my phone). Thanks to Duncan Riley, I found Twiddeo and was able to post a few videos directly from my phone. Poor quality, but eminently accessible. Saved as video MMS (mobile messaging service) each clip runs for 15 seconds and is approximately 250kb in size. This application will be useful in my teaching practice.

Camera upgrade
My 3.2MB camera finally died and I was able to replace it. Janet got me a $124 7.1 MB Olympus camera from Dick Smith Electronics, and I added a 1GB memory card for $49. I had fun playing with the settings, especially at night. I used my phone to record video (for uploading) and audio, and kept the camera for images. The card will store at 1142 images at 2048 x 1536 resolution, and the camera is a handy size to fit in my pocket. It’s heavier on batteries (probably because I was previewing quite a bit) so I had to buy disposable batteries until I learned to keep a pocket full of loaded rechargeable batteries. Now I’ve just caught up on the five days I’ve missed posting to the 366photos project

A cool website for mobile phones
Sitting on the train to the Dandenongs after a visit to the Museum of Victoria, I googled “Phar Lap” and found an informative site about Phar Lap that displayed beautifully on my phone. I decided that all of my future resources should work like this one does.

Viewing Julie’s films at an iHub
I was thrilled to find Julie Woodlock’s students’ work at an iHub in Southgate. It is the only one still displaying Kamilya Digital Mini Film Fest videos and there are two of Julie’s students’ clips: “One minute making of Rap” and “Table Talk on Palm”. Julie won the award for her students’ videos, not bad for a first time effort.

City hotel – idea for RFID cards
We stayed at the Hotel Causeway http://www.causeway.com.au/ right on Bourke St and each time we walked through the hotel I passed a carousel of cards positioned at the lift doors. Each card (sized as a business card, 50mm x 80mm) advertised a tourist service and was meant to be taken as a keepsake reminder. I thought it would be an excellent way to present Learning Table learning objects, and so I bought a business card holder and placed a few mini cards inside. I plan to represent each learning topic on a double sided card with an RFID tag embedded, accessing PowerPoint presentations and videoclips with a swipe of a card in the holder.

Jewish Museum
We visited the Jewish Museum at St Kilda to learn about Jewish culture. It featured skillfully designed interactive media displays addressing all senses, and was well worth the visit.

Australian Centre for the Moving Image
We watched several short films while sitting in 3-seat cocoons at ACMI in Federation Square

Mobile phone Internet browser
Although my phone has a Three mobile phone browser, RocketShotz looks useful too. It is customisable to a degree, and settings are adjusted on a computer.

Uploading video from mobile phone to YouTube
This morning I received notification that a video I attempted to upload from my mobile phone to YouTube was now ready for viewing. Two weeks later. Nice work, YouTube.

Flickr 366photos project
Although I tried various ways to upload images from my phone to Flickr, I have only succeeded once and have not been able to repeat the feat. Hence, I returned home five days behind with posting to the 366photos project Additionally, when my camera died, the photos I had taken for posting were inaccessible until I returned home and paid Rabbit Photo $10 to copy from data card to CDROM.

So the lessons I learned this week will be useful when I develop more mlearning resources to effectively engage my students, particularly using their own phones.

2 Responses to “Mobile in Melbourne”

  1. Sue Waters Says:

    Simon I have totally enjoyed reading your twitters and follow whatever photos you have sent to Flickr while you have been on holidays. Yes I know I didn’t always respond to your twitters I was definitely reading them and feeling slightly jealous! Glad you had a good time. Not sure if I could go away on holidays without my computer any more! I think I would have to smuggle it into my luggage when hubby was not looking – like Robin Williams in RV: Vacation. By the way went and saw Death at a Funeral. You are so right it is a fantastic film!

    PS Great you also learnt so much aboiut the different devices as a result of being deprived from computer.

  2. Mobile in Melbourne Says:

    […] Mobile in Melbourne By the way went and saw Death at a Funeral. You are so right it is a fantastic film! […]

Leave a Reply

