Twiddeo in Vocational Education and Training


Twiddeo = Twitter + Video conversations
Originally uploaded by st0nemas0nry

Twiddeo jumped out at me as a useful application.

I’m encouraging stonemasonry apprentices to provide me with video examples of their work for assessment and guidance. Twiddeo is very easy to use, especially if you have video/Internet phones as do most of my students.

Earlier this month, I uploaded several 15sec (of fame) videos of apprentice stonemasons in the Eagle Farm training workshop. I posted them to Twiddeo from my phone during the training session and the students were able to view them immediately via Twitter RSS feed at their stonemasonry Ning

I use this Twitter username with my students.

Vidoes posted to Twiddeo are downloadable, and are then viewable on a mobile phone.

This one shows a quick view of Joel learning how to use the stone lathe.

And this one shows him finishing his piece the next day.

Yes, they are low resolution and therefore poor quality imaging, but I think the immediacy and accessibility make up for this.

I found that it is important to hold the camera steady during recording, avoiding excessive panning. Close-ups are important as are middle distance establishing shots.

I’m hoping that this communication tool will catch on in the stone industry, establishing a resource bank of tips and tricks.

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “Twiddeo in Vocational Education and Training”

  1. rashkath Says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Great application.

  2. Noah Everett Says:

    You may be interested in TwitPic ( http://twitpic.com ) which allows you to post photos to Twitter from your PC or phone.

  3. cafechat Says:

    Noah, I certainly am interested. Presently I’m sharing photos with Flickr, but would prefer to use a Twiddeo type application that automatically updates Twitter with each posting from my mobile phone. I have joined Twitpic but perhaps my phone is not responsive to the current application?

  4. Stonemasonry l-o-o-o-ng photos « Cafechat’s Weblog Says:

    […] I had previously written about using sharing stonemasonry video clips online using Twiddeo. Twiddeo is useful because of its feed straight into my (brownsd) Twitter timeline. However, […]

  5. splitting stone « Cafechat’s Weblog Says:

    […] I had previously written about using sharing stonemasonry video clips online using Twiddeo. Twiddeo is useful because of its feed straight into my (brownsd) Twitter timeline. However, […]

  6. L-o-o-o-ng photos « Cafechat’s Weblog Says:

    […] I had previously written about using sharing stonemasonry video clips online using Twiddeo. Twiddeo is useful because of its feed straight into my (brownsd) Twitter timeline. However, […]

Leave a Reply

