Meme: Passion Quilt

Stone carving class
Stone carving class
Originally uploaded by st0nemas0nry

Anne tagged me for the Meme Passion Quilt. Guess I’m lucky that I was preparing this image after the first night of the stone carving evening class.

Here are the rules:

1. Think about what you are passionate about teaching your students.
2. Post a picture from a source like FlickrCC or Flickr Creative Commons or make/take your own that captures what YOU are most passionate about for kids to learn about…and give your picture a short title.
3. Title your blog post “Meme: Passion Quilt” and link back to this blog entry.
4. Include links to 5 folks in your professional learning network or whom you follow on Twitter/Pownce.

About the image
I asked eight of the nine students in class if I could photograph their work, their hands and their tools for a photo montage. I planned to use this in my daily Flickr post to the 366photos group. Some students were none too keen as they felt self conscious about having their first attempt at carving stone recorded. However, I hope they like the montage when I show it to them next week. I inserted the eight images into a PowerPoint slide and saved it as a JPG file, then uploaded the saved file to Flickr.

About the class
The stonemasonry section regularly hosts the Adult and Community Education (ACE) stone carving class at the Eagle Farm Training Centre. Three hours each night, one night a week for eight weeks four times a year (depending on numbers). Personally, I’m flattered that people are interested in stone as a sculptural medium and I enjoy explaining tools and materials that stonemasons use.
I try to get them busy carving stone as soon as possible after housekeeping details are sorted. Generally, there are two projects,one of which is shown at the top of this post. A block of Helidon freestone 75mm x 200mm x 300mm is used for a relief carving just to build familiarity with the material, develop finishing techniques, and to quickly produce a finished article.
After the basic skills are introduced, a larger project is discussed and planned. Participants then have the next seven weeks to finish both projects.
Most participants have an enjoyable experience, and some return for subsequent courses. A statement of attendance is provided, useful for entry to other classes.
I think that the ACE program provides an important social outreach to adults who are seeking new personal skills, and for this reason I fully support it.

I’ve tagged this meme to Joyce, Arthus, Michael, Jo and Allison.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

