Networked learning


vc STA & EIT

Originally uploaded by st0nemas0nry

Joyce Seitzinger, eLearning Adviser at the Eastern Institute of Technology in Hawke’s Bay, New Zealand, recently asked me to present at their Half Day Retreat (Joyce and I are members of the OzNZ Educators network). The theme of the Retreat was “Engage, Relate, Connect” guiding Eastern Institute of Technology staff in the management of a changing student corpus. Joyce wanted her teachers to learn how Web 2.0 tools could be used to do this. Networked Learning was one of five hour-long sessions run concurrently (twice) on Friday 13th June. Reports from the sessions are viewable at the EIT wiki.

Connecting the Media
When Joyce and I discovered that both TAFE Queensland and the Eastern Institute of Technology used Tandberg equipment, we decided that video conferencing would be the best ‘virtual presence’ technology to use. Because the EIT and SkillsTech Australia videoconference networks had never before been connected, we arranged to test the equipment during the preceding week.

across the Tasman Sea

After several attempts, there was a simply magical moment when we spoke virtually face-to-face while sitting 2500 kilometers (1600 miles) apart. Joyce and I used Gmail, Twitter, Skype and mobile phone to arrange the rendezvous via Videolinq.

Planning the presentation
Joyce wanted me to share with her teachers how I’m building learning networks with my students and colleagues, as well as indicating what students, colleagues and management thought of it. I was to leave the sessions’ participants with tangible means of Engaging, Relating, and Connecting using Web 2.0 tools.

Sharing the presentation
Re-working an earlier presentation, I chose Gmail, Del.icio.us, Flickr, and Ning as starting places for network novices. Sheryl (N2teaching) gave me Mark Twain’s story of Tom Sawyer enlisting his friends to help whitewash a fence, and I used screenshots of websites to explain how each social tool worked. I uploaded the PowerPoint presentation to SlideShare before the workshop, and Joyce displayed it during the presentation with a data projector. My notes are displayed as a comment on each slide.

Extending the conference
Joyce created a Ning network especially for the event, providing a public forum to discuss the conference, as well as tools to play with.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Networked learning”

  1. Sheryl A. McCoy Says:

    You and Joyce accomplished a valuable synergy between your two professional development groups. I was very proud to play a walk-on role;D

    Over the past year, I have watched and learned as your technology education skills and collaboration projects development grew exponentially. I can’t tell you how many times, many of my new ideas were generated from your work and my other friends in Australia and New Zealand.

    I am honored to share in your Professional Learning Network. Woohoo to Joyce and you. I can’t wait to see where all these professional development opportunities take your colleagues. The teachers in Joyce’s group seemed very energized and highly motivated.

  2. cafechat Says:

    Sheryl, I am learning so much and so fast because of selfless people in my networks sharing what they know, as well as what they discover. Now is an exciting time to be.

  3. headstones Says:

    Handcarved headstones are no doubt the best chioce available, all in various types of stone the hand carving adds a certain personal element to the memorial/monument. Personally stonework created using only machines doesnt have the same level of creativlty in my opinion.

  4. cafechat Says:

    Regarding hand carved headstones, you are entirely correct Neil. I teach computer-created stencils to satisfy industry needs, and there is still plenty of room for creativity whether this tool is used or not.

Leave a Reply

